Coming back from summer break

It’s so nice to have a few quiet minutes to write! Hopefully there are enough of them to put together a quick update on life.

Good Cop turned 30 a few days ago and much of this month has been wrapped up in celebrating him with something small every day. I didn’t feel like I could pull off a surprise party this year, but I wanted to make this birthday memorable, so that was the compromise. It was fun (and a bit crazy) to come up with a little surprise for each day. We’re so happy he’s in our life! And I’m more excited than I thought I’d be to have him in the 30s with me now; somehow it makes me feel less old.

Annie’s four-month check up went great. She’s in the 90th percentile for weight (16lb 13oz) and 99th for height (26.5″). My long little lady is taking after her momma for sure. Then, when we got home from the doctor’s office she rolled over for the first time, from tummy to back! She’s so fun lately. So far this is my favorite age. She’s talking with us, smiling at all the right times, making noises to make us laugh, and taking everything in with big, blue eyes. I love it.
IMG_3912

She’s also in one of those hard stages of not sleeping well, being moody and clingy, and switching from happy to mad in two seconds. It makes it hard to get anything done cause I’m pretty drained all the time and when she sleeps I veg out with solitaire, Facebook or eBay. I know that these phases will pass eventually and we’ll both be feeling better in a little while. Meanwhile I give both of us some slack; last night she went to bed at 8:45 and I did too.

This is around the time of year when we found out we were pregnant with her so I’ve been looking back at pics from those days. Hard to believe how much happened in this year. It felt like I was pregnant forever! Crazy to think that I’ve been at three different jobs in the past twelve months, too. So glad for the way everything worked out.

It’s been a great start to fall here – lovely weather, lots of sun, and cool nights for sleeping. We had our first real campfire in the backyard on Good Cop’s birthday. Ana looked adorable in her little Pooh-bear snowsuit. Quite a bit like Boo in Monsters, Inc. when they dress her as a monster. That was my highlight of the night!

We were talking the other night about how it feels to be parents. One thing we agreed was a favorite: making a little human that didn’t exist before. It sounds simplistic when I put it that way but it really is one of the things that blows my mind. She didn’t exist, and then she did. And she’s full of personality and opinions that are all her own. Amazing. Lately I’m thinking more about her schooling and I’m hoping-hoping-hoping that she’s a good fit for homeschooling or at least a combo of homeschool and traditional school. I would LOVE to be a teacher again. I’ve started pinning early childhood learning ideas on Pinterest and reading The Wonder Weeks, and it all makes me so excited for the age when she can start school stuff. I hope she loves September just as much as I do, with the fresh new school books that seem so big and jam-packed with things you can hardly believe you’ll know all of it by the end of the year. Magic.

Leave a Reply

