The final month

So much has happened in the last few weeks! We had our first shower, got the crib set up and the nursery cleaned out, Good Cop heard the Bluebird’s heart beating just by laying on my tummy, and spring arrived! There are two hyacinths and a tulip from the yard on the table. Smells delicious!

Image

The most note-worthy thing from the last few weeks was that my sister flew across the country to surprise me and be here for the first shower. It was amazing! She and Good Cop had been working on it for a while and they surprised the whole family. It was Easter weekend too, so we all got to be together for the holiday. I still can’t believe she did all that traveling just for two days here. We had an incredibly lovely and memorable evening together eating take-out Chinese in the car at the beach and then painting little birdhouses from Joann Fabrics to put in the nursery. I’m so glad she had a chance to see the Bluebird now while I’m still pregnant, cause this is a pretty special time and I’m not sure how many times I want to do this again!

The Bluebird has been healthy and happy as far as I can tell, growing a lot and moving all day. Thankfully he or she doesn’t move much at night and I rarely wake up because of that. I wake up for plenty of other reasons. I’m also getting a sore mid-back any time I sit down for more than a few minutes. It’s good incentive to get up and move, but it makes life interesting in situations when sitting is the norm (like work, church, meetings, eating, driving). Eating is a pain but I’m always hungry. Braxton Hicks contractions are coming around more often. My legs, feet and hands are swollen all the time. I’m also getting generally uncomfortable for no apparent reason sometimes, and the only thing I can figure is that the Bluebird must be sitting or pushing on something that doesn’t want to be pushed or sat upon. But it’s all good. I can handle this for another five weeks (or six or seven if I go late).

Everything is becoming more and more real. The baby-flood on Facebook has continued all month and each time I see a new one I wonder what ours will look like. We’ve started packing the hospital bags and I just washed the car seat so we can put it in the truck. Having the crib set up and all the baby clothes and blankets washed makes me feel better about being ready. I’m still hoping to make a few freezer meals and get a few things done around the house, but for the most part I think we’d survive pretty well if Bluebird is an early bird. Good Cop has been amazing about getting things done and making me as comfortable as possible. We’re both realistically excited about all the changes coming up – we know it’s impossible to prepare for it and we’ll just take it as it comes. We’ve made a lot of good memories lately, though. We’re soaking everything up. There have been so many big changes in the three years since we first met, but this one will be the best so far. Can’t wait!

5 thoughts on “The final month

  1. Mmm how I like thinking about Bluebird almost being here. And, of you and Good Cop being all settled at home in your family nest with Bluebird sleeping and cooing and keeping you wide awake at night.

    Love you

    OTFG

    • And how I like thinking of you being here in another 80-some days again to snuggle the baby bird! I’m visualizing us under the willow with the nanny bird (memories flooding back?) and the Recreational Therapy Fairy Godmother. :)

      • Most definitely! I can’t wait for RTFG to have a break from school, even if it’s just a mini-ish one with fewer classes for the summer.

        Yes, memories are flooding back! I can’t wait to re-live old memories and make new ones. So beautiful. xs and os, and see you soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

